Clearing the cache

URLs that get cached by Varnish will expire based on the Time To Live (TTL) set either by the Cache-Control headers sent from the origin or by the logic in the VCL code.

However if you need to remove things from the cache before they expire you can do that. Log into Aperture and go to State -> Manage


There are three ways to remove objects from the cache:

Purge particular URLs

You can remove particular URLs from the cache by entering the URL and clicking Purge. This form accepts wildcards in the form of , so entering /images will purge all URLs starting with /images.

Empty the entire cache

This will remove everything we have cached for your site. Use this if the cache is completely out of date and it needs to be refreshed.

NOTE: This may cause increased load on your origin server until we are able to refill the cache.

Custom Varnish ban expression

Our cache is an instance of Varnish so you can use ban expressions to prevent objects from being served from the cache. To learn how to use bans, see the Varnish Cache documentation.


Users can be restricted from full access to the site, and provided more restricted access. One role a user can have on an account is “state management”. This allows a user to clear the cache (and view configuration), but not make any changes. If you’d like a user with limited permissions, please contact support.